Smithsonian Museum awards Tellart top national honor for lasting achievement in American design

Today, we are proud to announce that Tellart has been honored with the 2016 National Design Award in Interaction Design. Bestowed by the Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum, the Award celebrates outstanding achievement in design through excellence, innovation, and enhancement of the quality of life.

Over the sixteen years of our company’s history, our team has worked to create designs that explore the frontiers of emerging technologies. Our goal has been to communicate and engage through interactive and multisensory experiences. We see networks, computation, and sensing as equal members in a materials palette containing wood, metal, plastic and glass–all powerful means to tell a story.

Tellart began in one of the nation’s earliest industrial buildings on Steeple Street in Providence built in 1790. The founders attended Rhode Island School of Design–an institution created in 1877 to bring the arts to early American industrial manufacture. This marriage of technology and design was baked into the ethos that we brought to designing with 21st-century digital technologies. Today, our staff works across four global offices to holistically create interactive products, installations and exhibitions for global brands and cultural institutions.

Launched by the White House in 2000, the National Design Award was created to celebrate design as a vital humanistic tool in shaping the world. National Design Award winners are chosen by an independent jury of prominent experts in the field, based on criteria including: originality in solving problems, significantly broadening the conventions of their discipline, introducing formal innovation, and exhibiting consistently high levels of imagination and insight. They also weigh how each nominee’s achievements have benefited the general public. The Interaction Design award is bestowed for exceptional and exemplary work in the design of interactive digital products, environments, systems and services.

We are humbled and honored to be among the recipients of this award.

We wish to thank our incredible staff and partners for their brilliant and tireless dedication to the craft of design:

Matt Cottam, Founder (2000 – Present)

Nick Scappaticci, Founder (2000 – Present)

Brian Hinch (2001 – Present)

Krzysztof Lenk (2001 – Present)

Katie Schon (2005 – Present)

Andrew Haarsager (2008 – Present)

Donna Feeley (2010 – Present)

James Smalls (2011- Present)

Laila Aukee (2011- Present)

Kuan-Ju Wu (2012 – Present)

Randy Snow (2012-Present)

Dan Lockwood (2013 – Present)

Mikhail Mansion (2013 – Present)

Emily Leighton (2013 – Present)

Christian Ervin (2013 – Present)

Paul Skinner (2013 – Present)

Zaza Zuilhof (2013 – Present)

Fernando Diaz Smith (2014 – Present)

Haiden Goggin (2014 – Present)

Alice Longo (2014 – Present)

Jack Lenk (2014 – Present)

Shu Yang Lin (2015 – Present)

Michael Rogan (2015 – Present)

Maia Garau (2015 – Present)

Ries Straver (2014 – Present)

Sabrina Verhage (2015 – Present)

Luca Zander (2015 – Present)

Rafe Copeland (2015 – Present)

Charlie Ledbetter (2015 – Present)

Jesus Galvez (2015 – Present)

Bec Conrad (2015-Present)

April Cuneo (2015-Present)

Yael Agmon (2016 – Present)

Holladay Saltz (2015 – Present)

Jacob Mann (2016 – Present)


We also extend our heartfelt thanks to all Tellart alumni, who over 16 years provided invaluable contributions to the body of work which is honored by this award.

Josh Backer (2000 – 2003)

Joel Taplin (2000 – 2004)

Peter Eiermann (2000 – 2003)

Jennifer Elliott (2001 – 2003)

Jeff Grantz (2004)

James Hsu (2005 – 2012)

Jasper Speicher (2005 – 2012)

Ferol Vernon (2007)

Geon Dong Kim (2007 – 2010)

John O’Leary (2008 – 2010)

Seth Snyder (2008 – 2013)

Adam Meyer (2010 – 2014)

David Sjunnesson (2012 – 2013)

Walter Kim (2011)

Matthew Brown (2013 – 2014)

Sarah Feeley (2013 – 2014)

Justin Couch (2013 – 2016)

Pierluigi Dalla Rosa (2013 – 2016)

Lassen Hines (2014 – 2015)

Ivor Williams (2014 – 2015)

More information at the award website.